On startup of old mastertemp 400, panel initializes with 888, 128, r13 and then goes dark. No blower no heat.
12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Posted

I have a mastertemp 400 lp, 460737. Installed in 2007. When powered-on, the unit's electronic display activates with startup codes 888, 128, and r13. All the panel leds (spa, pool, service sys, service heat) activate momentarily and then all goes dark. There is no blower action or any call for heat. I have replaced the old control board (r8) and the thermistor (as it was showing the water temp to be 100 even though there was no heat). None of the diagnostic leds (ags, afs, etc) are lit-up. I have followed the troubleshooting steps with no success. I have ordered a new transformer on the hope that this may solve it. Since there is power getting to the control board and membrane pad, its unlikely that the transformer is the issue. I have a full tank of propane and gas flows well to heater.
Any further troubleshooting guidance would be appreciated.

Please Sign In to post comments
Richard's picture
Tech, Pentair
Without the blower coming on,
Richard's picture
Tech, Pentair
Posted

Without the blower coming on, there could be an issue with the blower itself, or could be a safety circuit leaving the board. I would recommend to give us a call to go through the troubleshooting steps when you are at the heater and ready to run some tests with a multimeter at 1-800-831-7133

Thanks Richard, as the
Posted