Pentair Mastertemp 300 Cycles on/off - no Error Codes
8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Posted

I have a 3yo MasterTemp300 with the heat cycling on/off about every minute. The 'SERVICE SYSTEM' LED is not on, and no LEDs on the backside of the board are illuminated. My first guess was that the thermal regulator was not functional, but it has been replaced without success. The troubleshooting flowchart in the manual suggests that the Control Board needs replaced, but I'm hesitant to move forward without more confirmation. Any suggestions about how to proceed or other troubleshooting measures to try? Could this be an issue with the manifold bypass valve? Any help is appreciated!

Please Sign In to post comments
Richard's picture
Tech, Pentair
You may want to check if the
Richard's picture
Tech, Pentair
Posted

You may want to check if the exhaust temperature is exceeding 470 degrees F. To do this, while the heater is running hold down the pool or spa button down for 10 seconds, your display will change to reading the exhaust temperature. This could be board or stack flue sensor issue if the thermal regulator is opening properly, also you will want to make sure you have no restrictions in water flow, this can drive your exhaust temperature high a well.

Thanks Richard! Just checked
Posted

Thanks Richard! Just checked the exhaust and it doesn't exceed 240F before the burner shuts off for about 30 seconds. Is this pointing to a board issue, or are there other things to check?

I have the same issue.
Posted